top of page

Acerca de



What is Tetrathlon?

Tetrathlon is a very demanding competition with four parts: 
swimming, running, riding, and shooting.

The Aim of The Pony Club Tetrathlon is to provide Members with a challenging competition requiring sound practical horsemanship and general athletic ability. Thus, all-rounders should be encouraged to further their interest in riding and the horse generally by combining riding with other activities, thereby retaining their interest in The Pony Club. 

The Tetrathlon originated as a competition for boys, but there are separate competitions for girls, under identical rules except where otherwise stated.  Boys’ and girls’ competitions are run separately from each other, though they may take place at the same event.


The Pony Club scoring system is similar to the Modern Pentathlon method in that competitors score positive points according to the standard of their performance in each phase. In the Running and the Riding Phases, they are based on standards of 1,000 and 1,400 respectively, competitors having marks deducted or, in the Running, bonus marks added, according to their performance compared to the standard. In the Shooting and Swimming positive marks are awarded for shots on the target and distances swum and on scales such that scores are commensurate with those of other phases. Ideally each phase should have an equal influence on the final result (except that riding should have slightly more weight). The scores of a competitor in each of the four phases are added together to give his overall score for the Tetrathlon.  To earn an overall score a competitor must start each phase and must continue until eliminated or compelled to retire.

bottom of page